Reader’s Request


Ruth Graves Wakefield—dietitician, lecturer, and inventor of America's favourite cookie.

Yesterday a reader asked where she could get two recipes mentioned in my post about Ruth Graves Wakefield, inventor of the Toll House cookie and author of Ruth Wakefield’s Toll House Tried and True Recipes (M. Barrows & Company, 1940). Her wish is my command.

TOLL HOUSE CHOCOLATE CRUNCH COOKIES

MAKES 100 COOKIES

INGREDIENTS

1 cup butter [softened]

3/4 cup brown sugar

3/4 cup granulated white sugar

2 eggs beaten whole

1 teaspoon soda dissolved in 1 teaspoon hot water

2-1/4 cups flour sifted with 1 teaspoon salt

1 cup chopped nuts

2 bars (7 ounces) Nestle’s yellow-label semi-sweet chocolate, cut into pieces the size of a pea [or similar amount of semi-sweet chocolate chips]

1 teaspoon vanilla

DIRECTIONS

Cream butter. Add sugars and eggs. Mix dissolved soda into the sugar-butter mixture, alternating with additions of sifted flour until fully combined. Add nuts, chocolate, and vanilla. Drop by half teaspoons onto a greased cookie sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes in a 375-degree-Fahrenheit oven.

TOLL HOUSE TING A LINGS

INGREDIENTS

2 seven-ounce packages Nestle’s semi-sweet chocolate [or similar amount of semi-sweet chocolate chips]

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 cups cornflakes

1/4 cup chopped walnuts

1/4 cup prunes (uncooked, stoned, and cut into small pieces)

1/4 cup raisins or dates (cut finely)

1/4 cup dried apricots (uncooked and cut into small pieces)

1/4 cup candied ginger (cut finely)

DIRECTIONS

Melt chocolate in double boiler. Add remaining ingredients. Mix well and drop by spoonfuls on waxed paper. Allow to harden. Serve as cookies with dessert or use as candy.

9 comments on “Reader’s Request

  1. teresa says:

    wow, I never get 100 cookies out of that recipe. . .half a teaspoon huh?

  2. Tracy F. says:

    What a sweetheart you are to post the cookie recipes! Thank you so much. I’m on my way to grocery store for the ingredients!

  3. littleaugury says:

    reader request,I would like to have a box of ting a lings sent out! they sound yummy (the name) and look the same.

  4. Wallace says:

    I love your blog and look forward to your posts. I thought I’d share a 2008 article from the NY Times that reveals that aging the cookie dough is the “secret ingredient” in the Toll House Cookie recipe and was left out of the Nestle recipe.

    http://query.nytimes.com/gst/fullpage.html?res=9F04E0DE1431F93AA35754C0A96E9C8B63

    All the best!

  5. troublehits says:

    Very interesting blog. I will record the recipes and told my mother to make it because he has a hobby of cooking. Thank you for the article.

  6. Does anyone happen to know the copyright status of this image? I’m trying to find an image of Ruth Wakefield for media use.

    • I cannot remember where I found this image but I do remember looking for a photo credit and not seeing one. If I locate the image again, I will let you know. I believe it came out of one of her cookery books.

Leave a Reply

