Welcome to Our Kitchen


My husband and I love food. In our 10 years together, we have supped well and noshed widely, tucking in everywhere from Le Grand Vefour in Paris to humble homes in North Africa to soirees in South Carolina. Food snobs we’re not: Give me a sandwich made with pimento cheese and I can count myself quite happy. And as anybody who has visited our kitchen can readily see, we love cookery books. Especially vintage and antique ones, of which we have dozens.

Why? Probably because they are forlorn and neglected, pushed out of the way in favour of modern books and more up-to-the-moment cuisines. Yet in their heyday volumes such as Marcel Bouletin’s What Shall We Have Today? (1935), Mapie de Toulouse-Lautrec’s La Cuisine de France (1964), and Elsie de Wolfe’s Recipes for Successful Dining (1934) had passionate followings. And for the curiosity factor alone, we feel those early recipes, however vague, imprecise, and old-fashioned, deserve to find their way back onto today’s tables. Even if only for special occasions. So every day, without fail, we will dive into these languishing compilations and taste-test their contents with today’s tables in mind.

We don’t have a specialized kitchen, in case you are wondering. Ours is a galley affair, long and narrow, lined with painted beadboard and equipped with nothing more sophisticated than a 1940s Chambers gas stove and an array of late 19th- and early 20th-century copper pots, most of which need energetic polishing. Storage is an IKEA cabinet that has seen better days and a ceiling-high china cabinet made of carved oak in the Black Forest style (dead birds, dogs’ heads, et cetera). We also have an under-the-stairs pantry that does double duty as a laundry room.

Enjoy the ride. And we’ll save you a place at the table.

17 comments on “Welcome to Our Kitchen

  1. laura says:

    Looking forward ro see the dogs and birds of your chine closet. Happy New Year !

  2. Hard to follow Mr. WordPress, but delighted to follow you here as well as there. Or perhaps the “s” refers to multiple cooks. Either way, can’t wait.

  3. Charlotte says:

    How exciting! Just what I’m in the mood for in 2010. I re-read Brideshead Revisited over the holidays and had to pull out my Escoffier cookbook to dicover what a “soup of oseille” was…it’s sorrel soup! For the past few days, I’ve been lovingly studying its recipes. Best of luck with your new endeavor!

  4. Jen says:

    Hurray!

  5. littleaugury says:

    Superb!very exciting

  6. James XVI says:

    Your kitchen sounds great and I love this idea! Count me in.

  7. Rebecca James says:

    What fun!

  8. M Denise C says:

    Looking forward to your culinary postings!

  9. Dan says:

    I just dropped a wad on the new All-Clad d5 6-quart saute pan. (I’m single and rarely entertain so don’t ask me to explain. I and stainless steel are like Narcissus and the pond, the results often tragically similar: bewitched, befuddled, and in the end neither of us eats.)

    The pot already weighs a ton empty, but I’ll look forward to checking this site for inspiring means to fill it.

  10. columnist says:

    How enterprising. I shall follow with joy!

  11. Mapie de Toulouse-Lautrec! Thank you for that. As a child—well, young teen, growing up in rural Maine, I used to read her columns in Realites, dreaming of that more exotic culinary world.

  12. Lovely idea to have the cooking aspect front and center. Since we’re so visual, why not consider adding a photo of your kitchen, or parts of it, to this blog? If you want suggestions, I’d welcome cooking ideas and recipes for seasonal cooking during the next winter months…preferably one-potters since I work alone from my home office, and keeping it simple means I get my desk work about the Cannery (schohariecannery.org) accomplished (mostly!). Happy New Year’s to you and yours.

  13. Suon Ford says:

    Brilliant! I eagerly await the new blog and look forward to seeing photos of what sounds like a very interesting kitchen.

  14. YAY! I am happy to sit at the table with you!

  15. Lucinda says:

    Have always adored your cooking posts and am happy to find we love the same cookbooks. This should be a great new year!

  16. Deanna says:

    I look forward to your postings.

  17. carey pickard says:

    Thank you for ALL you continue to do to educate and entertain. Perhaps you will write about Mrs. Lowinsky and “Lovely Food”. Also, “Food for the Greedy” by Nancy Shaw.

Leave a Reply

